Creative Inspiration

Five Inspiring Ted Talks

If you sift through the Ted.com website, you’ll find over 1,600 Ted Talks. That is a shitload of talks. There are so many inspiring folks who’ve spoken at a Ted Conference, and these 5 are just a few that left an impression on me. They are not the only ones worth watching, but if you want a little inspiration in your Wednesday (or I guess technically Thursday, as I’m writing this at 1:30am), then here it is:

* Charlie Todd: The shared experience of absurdity

I have already expressed my deep adoration for Improv Everywhere, of which Todd is the founder. I loved seeing footage of the first ever No-Pants Subway Ride, and his explanations of some of the other missions are delightful. This talk is guaranteed to give many lolz.

Candy Chang: Before I die I want to…

Candy makes herself incredibly vulnerable in this video by discussing something (and someone) incredibly close to her heart. The art installation she created–which is now something you will find internationally–asks such a simple question. Seeing everyone’s answers is interesting, but it also gets you thinking about how you’d fill in the blank to, “Before I die I want to ______.”

* Neil Harbisson: I listen to color

This guy is literally so awesome I cannot handle it. Synesthesia fascinates me, and it’s amazing that he’s using technology to achieve something similar. A man who can only see in black and white can now see chords and he can create a song from the rainbow. He’s basically improved his life and made himself so cool that I am hoping he will be my best friend.

* Amanda Palmer: The art of asking

People have such a hard time asking for help, but Amanda sheds light on the idea of asking for things, giving things freely, and trust. She is also literally practicing what she preaches here, because her talk is 100% compelling–she is connecting hard with everyone in the audience and engaging every single person there. All artists should watch this!

* Caroline Casey: Looking past limits

If you decide you only want to watch one of these, watch this one. I don’t want to give anything away, but let me just say that what I took away from this is that we create limitations for ourselves, and by breaking these boundaries we truly can do anything. Caroline’s story is incredible, and she is one kickass lady!

T

One thought on “Five Inspiring Ted Talks

Leave a Reply

