Experiences / Travel

Portland in 6 hours or Less

Welp, I definitely intended to update last week at least once, but that obviously didn’t happen. I flew up to Portland last Sunday for work and ended up pulling some 12+ hour days (and by some I mean all), so I was a little pooped. But I’m back now–back in SF, back with my favorite feline, back to my good friends, and back to regular posting. Wheeee!

I was traveling for work, and damn, did I werk. I got to see some really cool parts of Portland because filming took me to those locations–for example, I rode on a ferry on the Willamette River and made it up to Mt. Hood. Still, I wasn’t vacationing–I was working my tush off. Most nights we wrapped filming late, after which I headed back to the hotel to send out a quick email with the next day’s itinerary, and then I’d pass out. Rough life. I did manage to sneak off mid-week for dinner and drinks with a friend of a friend (hi Tyler!), and that was certainly a treat in the middle of a crazy week. But by the time we officially finished filming the last day, it was 3am Saturday morning. I had gone to the White Owl Social Club with Tyler (for some of the best conversation and the most delicious vegan burger of my life btw), but I hadn’t had time for much more.

Now, I’m a big advocate of saying “Yes.” I don’t always agree to do everything, because well, sometimes sitting around with a bottle of wine and my cat watching Netflix has its allure. I’m past that point in my life where I feel like I’m really missing out if I don’t party with my friends and decide to stay in to veg. Also, I’ve discovered there’s definitely an appropriate time to say “No” to things. There’s nothing wrong with it, and it’s a valuable and powerful skill to have. But Saturday morning at the Shilo Inn, I was faced with a dilemma of what to do for the next six hours or so: sleeping versus pulling an all-nighter to see a bit of Portland covered in shimmery city night lights.

I desperately needed some rest, but I suppose it’s a case of curiosity killing the cat–I just couldn’t stand the thought of not seeing some of Portland while I was there, no matter how exhausted I was and how much I’d pay for it later (and woof, did I pay). So I slammed back some 5 Hour Energy and trekked out into the cold with Mat and Jessy, two other folks who were interested in some late night/early morning adventuring.

One place I kept hearing mentioned amongst people on set was Voodoo Donuts, a well-known spot open 24 hours. As a gal who always has an appetite, at 4am I was more than ready for a donut in my mouth. And holy shit people, there are some donuts there.

So. Many. Donuts.

So. Many. Donuts.

I went with a lime donut that had Willy Wonka Nerds sprinkled on top, and while I probably could have eaten 3, I went with 1. Mat also let me try the classic Voodoo Donut, which is a person-shaped donut with icing and raspberry (blood! o_O) filling, and Jessy let me try the cookies and creme donut. All delicious and highly recommended.

A few blocks away is the Portlandia statue, which I wanted to see since it holds significant meaning to one of my best friends. Portlandia is quite a lady, and no amount of pictures or videos of her would have prepared me for how gorgeous she really is up close. Seriously, it just don’t do her no justice.

Portlandia by night.

Portlandia by night.

After seeing that beauty, we wandered a little more around the city even though most things were closed by that time. While it’s not a 24-hour city, Mat and Jessy still managed to take me to a few fun little spots. I couldn’t have asked for two better people to spend the evening/morning with–they’re two of the coolest peeps out there and I’m super fortunate to have had some time outside of work to get to know them. Also, while Portland still would have been cool if I’d trekked out by myself, spending time in a new place with friendly folks was a nice reminder of how valuable human connections are.

So after traipsing through the Rose City and seeing some amazing views, going through some intense rounds of would-you-rather, taking silly photos, discussing hypothetical parkour situations on rooftops we could see from the bridge, admiring Portlandia, talking about our futures, nearly falling asleep sitting up at a diner, and listing out what we would do with 24 hours to live, I happily realized that all of that evening (morning?) happened because I said, “Yes.” Pretty amazing.

Here are a few other pics from my trip. Enjoy!!

T

Alaska Airlines offers complimentary beer or wine on some flights. Best flight ever.

Alaska Airlines offers complimentary beer or wine on some flights. Best flight ever.

The White Owl Social Club with Tyler.

The White Owl Social Club with Tyler.

Portland city streets.
Portland city streets.
A beacon of hope at 4am.
A beacon of hope at 4am.
Voodoo Donuts nom with Mat and Jessy.
Voodoo Donuts nom with Mat and Jessy.
Flying home, and I was so tired I couldn't match my socks. Heh.

Flying home, and I was so tired I couldn’t match my socks. Heh.

Leave a Reply

