Experiences / Travel

Santa Cruz/Highway 1/Tofurky

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I ate a lot of delicious food, had some wonderful drink, and became incredibly fat and sassy. Turkey Day (or, for me, Tofurky Day) is one of the best holidays out there because it’s literally all about getting together with awesome people, hanging out, and stuffing your face. All of these are things at which I excel.

I did have a bit of a panic moment the night before Thanksgiving because I couldn’t find fresh cranberries for cranberry sauce. For about a half a second I was like, Gah! Everything’s ruined! and then I was like, No one really gives a crap, and I moved on with my life. It reminded me that I could literally cook anything and it wouldn’t matter, everyone would just be happy to be together. But thanks to my roommate for picking some fresh cranberries up, because the cran sauce was bomb.

Most Thanksgivings I chill out the majority of the weekend at home, and then by the end of it all, I get cabin fever. In order to prevent this in 2013, my dude from LA and I decided to check out Santa Cruz Friday to Saturday. After living in SF for over two years, I had not once made a trip down to Santa Cruz, although I’d heard some pretty great things. Turns out all those great things are true. I really really liked Santa Cruz. There was lots of yummy foodstuffs, beautiful beach views basically everywhere you turned, super friendly folks, and the weather was so beautiful that Saturday I was walking around without a jacket. In November. Yeah.

The icing on the cake was our ride on Highway 1 to and from our destination. In general, I sense something terribly nostalgic about hopping in a car for a trip, because that’s how the majority of my childhood vacations began. It also sort of makes me feel like Geena Davis in Thelma and Louise. The ride is short–only about 75 miles between SF and Santa Cruz–but there were so many spots where you’re tempted to just pull the car over for a little bit to explore. It gives a whole new meaning to Ralph Waldo Emerson’s quote, “Life is a journey, not a destination.” PREACH.

Here are some photos from stops along the Pacific Coast Highway. You’ll see that both days were mostly foggy, but it’s still pretty damn cool!

A foggy shoreline

A foggy shoreline

Wicked cool rocks

Wicked cool rocks

The sun came out for a bit on Highway 1!

The sun came out for a bit on Highway 1!

The last stop before getting into Santa Cruz.

The last stop before getting into Santa Cruz.

Train tracks by Shark Tooth Beach.

Train tracks by Shark Tooth Beach.

This spot is just outside Santa Cruz. Beautiful!

This spot is just outside Santa Cruz. :-O

Look at that Pacific.

Look at that Pacific.

Caught the last bit of sun on Saturday.

Caught the last bit of sun on Saturday.

One thought on “Santa Cruz/Highway 1/Tofurky

  1. Pingback: Travel That: Santa Cruz | Tremendous Times

Leave a Reply

