Miscellaneous

On The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Featuring: My Cat in a Bow Tie

Happy New Year, everyone! I hope you rang in 2014 in style, whatever that means for you. For me it meant one of my favorite bars with some of my favorite people. And a pretty dress and glitter nail polish.

There are two things I literally have not been able to take my mind off of for the past week or so. The first is The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, which I saw at home with my family. The other is my cat wearing the bow ties that he got for Christmas. I could write a post about each of these things separately, but that seems silly.

Exhibit A:

Me-wow

Me-wow

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty was an inspiring and funny film that is a serious contender for my overall top 5 (hear that, OVERALL TOP 5. Trust.). The story follows Walter Mitty (played brilliantly by Ben Stiller) who has a tendency to get some seriously wicked daydreams. He works in the negative assets department for LIFE magazine, and one of his responsibilities is getting photos ready for publication. You discover pretty early on in the film that LIFE will be doing its last print publication, and even though Walter is faced with losing his job and he’s getting serious heat from the new boss slash transition counselor guy (AKA Adam Scott with an unfortunate creepy beard), he remains committed to doing his job right. So, when he’s unable to locate the negative set to be the cover for the final issue, he’s encouraged by co-worker slash crush Cheryl (Kristen Wiig, y’all) to treat it like he’s solving a mystery and unearthing clues. When these clues point him in the direction of Greenland, the seemingly shy and introverted Mitty says yes and goes on an adventure.

And now I give you, Exhibit B:

Dapper

Dapper

The film isn’t perfect, but there are a lot of things to love about it. To start, Ben Stiller is in it. The same Ben Stiller who is Zoolander. Aside from starring in the film, he directed it, and I have a serious respect for artists who can immerse themselves in their work like that. Also, Mitty is a character in which I think everyone can see at least a little of themselves. He’s a pretty regular guy at first glance, and he seems to even have convinced himself of that, but then you learn more about him. As you get to know Walter, you discover he’s actually insanely good at his job, he used to be super into skateboarding, and he loves his family and is a solid foundation for them. Like a lot of people, he doesn’t even realize how cool he is, although his journey throughout the film does help him get there. Oh, and the soundtrack is phenomenal. I’ve been listening to it nonstop basically since I saw the film, and the songs literally transport me back to certain images in the film which is pretty damn cool.

So much cute with Exhibit C:

Purr

Purr

Last (and this is the one that really stands out for me) is that it’s an adventure movie about an average person. You’re not watching Vin Diesel and car chases and seeing tons of explosions. You’re watching a regular dude, just a normal person like you and me, go on an adventure that could actually happen. I totally respect a film’s ability to transport you and take you on a journey that is fantastical even if it’s not possible, but The Secret Life of Walter Mitty is a refreshing take on an action/adventure film that does all of that and shows you it is possible.

Okay, well that’s it for now. Go out and kick some 2014 booty, and I’ll do the same.

T

 

One thought on “On The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Featuring: My Cat in a Bow Tie

  1. Pingback: Why I Should Attend the Blogcademy Featuring: Stick-n-Poke Tattoo Instructions | Tremendous Times

Leave a Reply

