Creative Inspiration / Miscellaneous

Dreams, Part I

Dreaming is fascinating. When I took AP Psych in high school, my favorite unit was about dreams and sleep. And why wouldn’t it be? I love sleeping. I’m great at it. And I love having dreams, even though I find I can rarely remember them.

Recently, I’ve been having some unsettling dreams. Not nightmares, but there are certain themes and people that keep popping up and I can’t explain why. Okay, I don’t think dreams can ever really be completely explained, and I’m not looking to do that, but obviously there is a portion of my brain that is occupied with these thoughts. And to figure out if there’s something that I should be doing in my waking life about it, I decided to start recording my dreams when I wake up from them. I have discovered:

1) I’m no longer that person who’s like, “Oh I had this dream and this happened and that’s all I remember.” I can now remember my dreams vividly.

2) I have some weird. ass. dreams.

Really, though, it’s been cool to look back at some of the dreams I’ve had so far in 2014. And now that I have a good number of them written down, I’m going to analyze some of the parts of a few thus far and share. I think that some theme-appropriate music is in order.

* I’m shin-deep in a shallow part of the ocean. There are cute animals everywhere, like rabbits and such. A little goat runs off and returns with a baby pig in its mouth.

This is the first dream I recorded in my book. It was pretty magical, to tell you the truth. Seriously, like the happiest, cutest dream possible, with clouds and rainbows. Some of the symbols I looked up:

Ocean: This represents the state of your emotions and feelings. It is indicative of spiritual refreshment, tranquility, and renewal.
Rabbit: This signifies luck, magical power, and success. You have a positive outlook on life.
Goat: This represents your lack of judgment and gullibility.
Pig: This can refer to someone who is dirty or someone who is chauvinistic.

Whoah, now. These symbols are actually quite interesting and tell a bit of a story. The gullible goat with poor judgment brought a dirty and chauvinistic pig to me. Some people might take this as a poor omen or something, that my lack of judgment has allowed someone into my life who shouldn’t be there. I have to say, I thought this dream was like super awesome and I got this fuzzy feeling about it. The goat brought back like the tiniest pig in the world in it’s mouth. I think that if this person is in my life or enters my life soon, he/she will be a minor person to deal with.

Or…is this my poor judgment speaking? :-O

* I’m getting married. Everyone is taking my picture. People think I’m marrying a groomsmen and not the groom. This somehow morphs into a long movie trailer. The movie stars Jenny McCarthy. There is a huge flood, and there is a chihuahua, and mannequins.

Uh, okay. I didn’t really follow it myself when I was dreaming it, but the above elements were there. So:

Wedding: This signifies commitment, harmony, or transitions. You are undergoing an important developmental phase in your life.
Photographs (for this particular meaning, I decided on photo shoot): This suggests you are keeping up an appearance. Things are not what it seems.
Movie (as I was viewing a trailer, I went with movie theater): This indicates that you are attempting to protect yourself from your emotions and/or actions. Viewing them on a movie screen projects them onto another person and thus makes those feeling and actions seem more distant. Your subconscious is trying to protect you from experiencing them directly.
Flood (this was a gentle flood, so I went with that description): This indicates that your worries over a certain matter will soon be swept away.
Chihuahua: This represents someone around you who is unexpectedly vocal or who is insecure.
Mannequin: This represents an extension of your own self that you are projecting. You may feel that you are not playing an active enough role in some situations.

Seriously, this dream be cray. I think that all of these things tie together in a way, though, and while there are some negative things–myself being a guarded person, someone around me who is insecure, keeping up appearances–the fact that the flood will wash everything away is a good indication that all will be fine. It’s also a pretty good indication that I have really weird dreams that involve EVERYTHING. Don’t smoke crack, kids. Note: Jenny McCarthy was not in the dream database.

* I was in front of a mirror cutting my hair. I realized it was brunette (my natural color). I only cut one side.

Seriously, the same person who dreamed about chihuahuas at a wedding with a flood and Jenny McCarthy also has simple dreams such as this. I looked up:

Hair (cutting one’s own): This means you may be reshaping your thinking or ambitions and eliminating unwanted thoughts/habits.
Brunette: This indicates that you need to be more down to earth. It may also be symbolic of your sultriness and smoldering sexuality.
Scissors: This denotes decisiveness and control in your waking life. You need to get rid of something in your life. It also represents your ability to cut things or people out of your life.

Alright, I won’t lie, I think the brunette being symbolic of my sultriness and smoldering sexuality isn’t really applicable in this dream, I just wanted to keep it in there because why not? But honestly, I think this dream is a great representation of how I feel right now–very in control of my life. I’m making exciting decisions, planning out longer-term goals, and sort of always re-evaluating my situation to make sure I’m happy.

This dream also strangely reminded of the intro to one of my favorite films, (500) Days of Summer. At the very begging, the narrator introduces Summer Finn, who has “only loved two things: the first was her long, dark hair. The second was how easily she could cut it off, and feel nothing.” Deep.

Alright, that’s really all, I wanted to analyze my crazy crackhead dreams and see what weird shit I came up with! Toodles!

All dreams were analyzed using Dream Moods.

Leave a Reply

