Creative Inspiration

Quotes About Adventure to Inspire & Motivate

Dalai Lama Quote

Ever have one of those days? You know the ones I’m talking about–the days when it feels like everything is off, that you’re not good at what you love to do, that you’re unhealthy, or that there’s nothing exciting going on in your life.

Well, of course you have! Everyone has those days. If you didn’t have days like that, then the wonderful, amazing, unbelievable days wouldn’t be nearly as wonderful, amazing, and unbelievable, now would they?

Still, it doesn’t change the fact that when you’re having days like that, or even a period of days like that, you have to work through it. Most recently, I’ve felt like I’ve been in a really weird funk, and for no particular reason at all. I have so many wonderful things in my life that I’m grateful for, like my family and friends, my job, my talents, and my cat (of course). But for whatever reason, I’ve been feeling less motivated and a extremely drained of energy. It helped to talk things through with my close friends, but I also referred to a little backlog of inspirational quotes I keep on hand, just to see if they offered up any good advice. I came across this one:

Paul Coelho quote

A quote by Paul Coelho. Source.

Now anyone who knows me is well aware that I am basically allergic to cubicles. It’s nothing against office jobs, or the people who work them and/or enjoy doing them. That’s awesome, if it’s your thing! But I’m extremely opinionated, sarcastic, and I have pink hair, for cryin’ out loud. I would be a complete nightmare in a corporate setting. I’m fortunate to have a job that gives me the independence I have–I make my own hours and I work remotely. It’s the first job I’ve had that has given me such freedom, and it’s perfect for my personality. When I’m given the space to do work and create things without a bunch of guidelines, I go balls to the wall.

This quote got me thinking about my current situation, and I realized that part of the reason I was probably feeling so down was because I’ve been primarily working from home. I like my home office, but I realized I’d been working in it every. single. day. And not only am I sitting at my desk for work, but I then spend extra hours sitting there to write and blog. No wonder I was feeling weird–I’d practically created a cubicle for myself! Except I don’t have the benefits of coworkers in my environment, so the only person to gossip with at the water cooler is my cat. So I decided to start utilizing the nearby library again, and I’ve tried out a coffee shop or two in my neighborhood. Already, that little change of scenery has made a big difference to my outlook on life.

That one quote helped me out, so I wanted to share a few other great ones I’ve found over the past few months. I hope they inspire you to travel, both near and far, and motivate you to create adventure and excitement in your day-to-day life!

Hunter S. Thomspon quote

Source.

“Plunge boldly into the thick of life, and seize it where you will, it is always interesting.” Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

“It always seems impossible until it is done.” Nelson Mandela

“Do the things today that will lead to the wonderful life you desire tomorrow.” Brian Tracy

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” Oscar Wilde

“An adventurous life does not necessarily mean climbing mountains, swimming with sharks or jumping off cliffs. It means risking yourself by leaving a little piece of you behind in all those you meet along the way.” Shawna Grapentin

Normality is a paved road: It’s comfortable to walk, but no flowers grow on it.” Vincent Van Gogh

Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far they can go.” T.S. Eliot

“Never forget that life can only be nobly inspired and rightly lived if you take it bravely and gallantly, as a splendid adventure in which you are setting out into an unknown country, to face many a danger, to meet many a joy, to find many a comrade, to win and lose many a battle.” Annie Besant

“Stop worrying about the potholes in the road and celebrate the journey.” Fitzhugh Mullan

Jawaharlal Nehru quote

Source: moi

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” Henry Miller

“Adventure is a path. Real adventure – self-determined, self-motivated, often risky – forces you to have firsthand encounters with the world. The world the way it is, not the way you imagine it. Your body will collide with the earth and you will bear witness. In this way you will be compelled to grapple with the limitless kindness and bottomless cruelty of humankind – and perhaps realize that you yourself are capable of both. This will change you. Nothing will ever again be black-and-white.” Mark Jenkins

“Life is either a daring adventure or it is nothing.” Helen Keller

“Happiness is not a state to arrive at, but a manner of traveling.” Margaret Lee

“Life is adventure, not predicament.” James Broughton

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” Mark Twain

“An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.” Gilbert K. Chesterton

“I have found adventure in flying, in world travel, in business, and even close at hand… Adventure is a state of mind – and spirit.” Jacqueline Cochran

“You can’t cross the sea merely by standing and staring at the water.” Rabindranath Tagore

“There is no certainty; there is only adventure.” Roberto Assagioli

And, I think this one has to be one of my favorites:

Hugh Laurie quote

Thanks, Dr. House. Source.

What was your favorite quote of the ones listed? Do you have other travel/adventure quotes that you like?

 

2 thoughts on “Quotes About Adventure to Inspire & Motivate

  1. I think my favorite is the quote by Paul Coelho, but I might be a lil bias to the design 😉

    I think this was so on point and I bet a lot of us readers could relate to your feelings. I wish those days of feeling “off” were fewer and the good days would multiply!

    • I love the design for that Paul Coelho quote, too! And yes, those off days are no fun, but it’s funny how a few inspirational words make a huge difference. 🙂

      Thanks so much for reading!!

Leave a Reply

