Tips & Advice / Travel

Three Products Every Woman Should Pack When Traveling (featured on LunaLuna Magazine)

I’m super excited to announce that I’ve had an article published on LunaLuna Magazine! This is a post that the ladies will find especially helpful, and I hope all you dudes out there share with the gals in your life. This post was originally published here.

“Are you ready? The following three products are going to change your life.

I know what you’re thinking: “They’ll change my life?” I wish I were being dramatic about it, but the three products below literally will. They’re great for everyday, but they especially make traveling much, much easier.

Coconut Oil

Why it will change your life: you can consolidate a hair de-frizzer, lip gloss, moisturizer, and eye makeup remover into one.

Just like I pack clothing items that can work for multiple outfits, I also bring beauty products that can act as multiple products in one when traveling. Coconut oil is good for practically anything, it seems, and I have a large tub of it sitting in my bathroom at home for that very reason. Rub a small amount on your hands and run through your mane to de-frizz your hair. Swipe it on your lips for some moisture. Rub it on drier areas of skin like your elbows.

My favorite use, though, is as a makeup remover. I wear waterproof eye makeup, which can be kind of tricky to remove, especially as a contact lens wearer. Coconut oil is gentle and does the job better than any makeup remover I’ve ever bought at a drugstore, and is way less money as well.

A small travel-sized container filled with some of this amazing stuff should last you a while. A little coconut oil goes a long way.

A Menstrual Cup

Why it will change your life: you’ll never have to purchase another pad or tampon in your life. And, if you’re like me, you’ll never leak.

Long gone are the days of spending money monthly on uncomfortable hygiene products. No more packing an entire package of pads for a trip. Goodbye to “period panties”–ladies, you know what I’m talking about.

If you haven’t already heard of it, the Diva Cup (and other similar menstrual cups) only needs to be emptied every 12 hours. It takes a little getting used to and requires practice to figure out how it fits best in your body–it’s far more “hands-on” than pads or tampons–but I’ve had nothing but crazy success with it. I got the hang of it quickly and found that I actually experience less cramping when I use it. Win win!

Source.

Some travel essentials. Source.

Just to be clear, some people think that it’s gross to use a menstrual cup because you’re removing this cup of blood from your body and pouring it in the toilet. But my body isn’t disgusting, and neither is yours. Women have periods, and that’s not gross–it’s natural.

So aside from the fact that you’ll save money and an insane amount of space in your luggage, you’ll also become a lot more in tune with your body. The Diva Cup also comes with a little carrying bag, and it will fit perfectly into any cosmetics case.

Baking Soda

Why it will change your life: not only can you avoid spending dollah billz on the doc, but you’ll avoid pumping your body full of antibiotics.

Bladder infections (or UTIs) suck. There are few things worse than that sinking feeling when you sit down to pee and recognize that, congratulations, you have another one. I’ve luckily never had one while traveling, but I have used the baking soda method at home before. It was such a success, that I carry some baking soda with me just in case whenever I’m on the go.

My friend told me this trick which balances the pH in your urine, and it worked like a dream. Please know, she’s no doctor, and neither am I, so use this method at your own risk. If you’re a few days into an infection, you should see a doctor immediately, but if you’re just starting to feel the pangs of one coming on, here’s what you can do:

Mix 1/2 teaspoon to 1 teaspoon of baking soda into a glass of water.

Repeat no more than 2-3 times daily, and do for up to 2 weeks.

Literally, I feel 5 billion times better within about 20 minutes of the first glass, and I’ve done this multiple times with a 100% success rate! It takes away the urge to pee every minute, and it minimizes the pain considerably. Usually, I do this for about a week to ensure I’ve gotten rid of the infection, but if this doesn’t take care of it, I make an appointment to see my doctor.

Try to pack this in a small container, like a contact case, so that if you know you’re prone to UTIs, you’ll be prepared!”

What health/beauty items do you swear by for traveling? Have you ever used any of these above products when on the go?

Also, be sure to check out the other amazing travel articles and posts at LunaLuna!

2 thoughts on “Three Products Every Woman Should Pack When Traveling (featured on LunaLuna Magazine)

  1. I’ve never thought about bringing coconut oil on my trips but it’s such a great idea! Such a great multi- tasking product to have on hand. The menstrual cups sound very interesting, I’ll have to do more research on them to see how they work etc.

Leave a Reply

